top of page
  • Writer's pictureturnerroslynlorrai

My 8th Grade Experience

Written By: Roslyn Turner

8th grade, to be honest, movies make it look a lot more action packed then it actually is. You sit at a desk (except for pe) for like 40 or 50 minutes, something like that. Then you go to lunch, go to your home room, then your last period and call it a day. Go home, do homework and then do whatever you want. Then repeat it for a year. . It’s hard to stay focused and just wanna do stuff in general. But there are some good things about 8th grade. You go on fieldtrips, make friends, and have cool events to participate in. But I didn’t participate in half the stuff that happened in 8th grade which is why I probably shouldn’t be writing this article in the first place, but I still wanna talk about my 8th grade experience. Even though I didn’t do much and despise homework, I still managed to have a good time.



My Thoughts On 8th Grade

It’s not what I expected? To be honest I didn’t really know why I expected crazy stuff to happen, I watched too many movies over the summer, I don’t know. I wish I participated in more events. But I was busy with other thighs and just didn’t have energy. But nonetheless even if i didn’t go to certain events, I managed to have a good time. 8th grade is one of those things you can't wait for when you're in 6th grade but once you get there you feel like you wish you could go back to 6th grade. Middle school was hard for all of us. Especially 7th grade, oh man. But thi year was much better than last year, I made friends and actually ended up having a lot of fun conversations with some of my teachers, who made my year here a lot less harder than it already was. 8th grade opened me up to new things and different types of people, which I'm so thankful for. I feel like I've come a long way compared to 7th grade. I've evolved and grown. And I’m confident that thanks to all these amazing experiences this year with people and teachers, I will be more prepared for high school. I had my rough patches through this year, like any other kid here, but it was a nice time. 8th grade is kinda a growing moment for everyone in my opinion. When you first get to middle school you’re fresh out of elementary school and a little immature. But once you get to 8th grade things start to change a lot more. Your mind set, likings, and maybe even friends' groups begin to change. It was an alright experience. And I hope the upcoming 7th graders enjoy their second year of Centerville as they grow and evolve in 8th grade.


Saying Goodbye To Centerville

As excited as I am about high school, I won’t lie I’ll miss centerville. Which sounds silly but it’s the truth. I made new friends here and also met teachers that helped me improve and do better. And I’m pretty confident Washington HIgh will have teachers just as passionate about their students as the ones at centerville, but i’ll still miss them. The homework wasn’t fun of course but more is to be expected in High School, but I’ll be prepared. Centerville has helped me come out of my shell and talk to other kids, be less reserved than I was before, and thanks to that making friends might come easier. To the other 8th graders who might be reading this and just as nervous about high school as I am, good luck and I hope you enjoy your time in Washington, try your best and remember to have fun, but work hard. Thank you Centerville for the experiences and being passionate about your students. I hope the upcoming 8th graders have a good time at centerville and make many new friends and memories. Goodbye centerville!!


47 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


Les commentaires ont été désactivés.
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page